Hosts: Tim BrowningTamas Hausel


Location: Building West, Heinzel Seminar Room
Time: Thursdays, 1.30pm-3.30pm
(* =unusual time/place, check invitation file)


The seminar has a 2 hour format. The first hour is asked to be introductory aimed at graduate students. The second part, after a break, could be more technical. In particular it makes sense to come only for the first introductory part.

If you wish to receive regular email notifications about our events please contact


Date Speaker Topic
September 19, 2019 Alice B. Tumpach (Université de Lille, France) Bruhat-Poisson structure of the restricted Grassmannian and the KdV hierarchy
September 26, 2019 Anton Mellit (University of Vienna) The curious hard Lefschetz property for character varieties
September 27*, 2019 Oscar Garcia-Prada (ICMAT Madrid) BWAG
October 3, 2019 Gergely Harcos (Renyi MTA, Budapest) A Minkowski-type result for linearly independent subsets of ideal lattices
October 10, 2019 Ben Davison (University of Edinburgh) Positivity for quantum canonical bases for cluster algebras
October 17, 2019 Umberto Zannier (Scuola Normale Superiore, Italy); (tbc) Bounded height in pencils of finitely generated subgroups
October 24, 2019 Fernando R. Villegas (ICTP Trieste) Integral factorials ratios and mixed Hodge numbers
October 31, 2019 (UNUSUAL PLACE: Uni Vienna) Francois Loeser (Sorbonne Université) BWAG
November 7, 2019 Nadir Fasola (SISSA, Trieste) Flags of sheaves, quivers and nested instantons
November 14, 2019 Yang Cao (University of Hannover) Strong approximation: Arithmetic purity and squarefree value
November 21, 2019 Jochen Heinloth (University of Duisburg-Essen) Existence of good moduli spaces and applications
November 28, 2019 (UNUSUAL TIME) Rachel Newton (University of Reading, UK) Counting failures of a local-global principle
December 5, 2019 Hulya Arguz (University of Versailles St-Quentin) Log geometric techniques for open invariants in mirror symmetry
December 12, 2019 Daniel Huybrechts (University of Bonn)
December 19, 2019 Jessica Fintzen (University of Cambridge)
January 09, 2020 Arthur Forey (ETH Zürich)
January 16, 2020 Adeel Khan (University of Regensburg)
January 23, 2020 Fabien Pazuki (University of Copenhagen)
June 04, 2020 Hélène Esnault (Freie Universität Berlin)