There is an intense effort in information technology to find solutions to the problems emerging from the miniaturization of conventional complementary metal oxide semiconductor devices. In microelectronics, researchers are trying to create ever smaller and faster transistors by decreasing their dimensions or by choosing materials with different, more promising properties.

Researchers in basic research on the other hand are investigating new concepts which would allow information processing to operate on completely different principles. In this line, Loss and DiVincenzo suggested the use of electron spins confined in lithographically defined quantum dots as elementary quantum bits to realize a quantum computer. In parallel to the development of spin qubits, there has recently been a huge wave of excitement in the prospect of using topological qubits for quantum computation. Such topological qubits are predicted to be robust versus decoherence. In the main focus of these proposals are the so-called Majorana fermions. Various studies have suggested the use of topological insulators and semiconductor nanowires for the realization of Majorana fermions. Indeed, first experimental signatures of Majorana fermions have been reported in the past few years.

In the nanoelectronics group we study spin qubits in Ge based systems, self-assembled QDs and lithographically defined QDs in two dimensional hole gases. In parallel we aim to understand whether Majorana fermions can be realized and detected in a hole-type system. Finally, hybrid Al/InAs nanowire devices are studied aiming at proving the topological properties of Majorana fermions. While our research is focused on the realization of different types of qubits, the group is very much interested in studying new fundamental physics emerging in semiconductor nanodevices.


Georgios Katsaros
Institute of Science and Technology Austria (IST Austria)
Am Campus 1
A – 3400 Klosterneuburg


CV and Publication List

Katsaros Group website

Sandra Widdmann
Phone: +43 (0)2243 9000-1178


  • Kushagra Aggarwal, Scientific Intern  
  • Matthias Brauns, Postdoc
  • Luka Drmic, Project Technician
  • Andrea Hofmann, Postdoc
  • Daniel Jirovec, PhD Student
  • Josip Kukucka, PhD Student
  • Joshua Milem, PhD student
  • Marco Valentini, Scientific Intern
  • Lada Vukusic, Postdoc
  • Hannes Watzinger, Postdoc

    Selected Publications

    • Vukušić, L., Kukučka, J., Watzinger, H., Milem, J. M., Schäffler F. and Katsaros, G.(2018): Single-shot readout of hole spins in Ge, arXiv: 1803.01775
    • Watzinger, H., Kukučka, J., Vukušić, L., Gao, F., Wang, T., Schäffler, F., Zhang, J. J. and Katsaros, G.  (2018): A Ge hole spin qubit, Nature Communications 9, 3902.
    • Zhang, J. J., Katsaros G., Montalenti, F., Scopece, D., Rezaev, R. O., Mickel, C., Rellinghaus, B., Miglio, L., De Franceschi, S., Rastelli, A. and Schmidt, O.G. Monolithic growth of ultra-thin Ge nanowires on Si(001) Phys. Rev. Lett. 109, 085502 (2012).
    • Katsaros, G., Golovach, V.N., Spathis, P., Ares, N., Fournel, F., Schmidt, O.G., Glazman, L.I. and De Franceschi S. Observation of spin selective tunnelling in SiGe nanocrystals Phys. Rev. Lett. 107, 246601 (2011).
    • Katsaros, G., Spathis, P., Stoffel, M., Fournel, F., Mongillo, M., Bouchiat, V., Lefloch, F., Rastelli, A., Schmidt O.G., and De Franceschi, S. Hybrid superconductor-semiconductor devices made from self-assembled SiGe nanocrystals on silicon Nature Nanotechnology 5, 458-464 (2010).


    As of 2016 Assistant Professor, IST Austria
    Since 2012 Group Leader, Johannes Kepler University, Linz, Austria
    2011–2012 Group Leader, Leibniz Institute for Solid State and Materials Research, Dresden, Germany
    2006-2010 Postdoc at CEA, Grenoble, France
    2006 PhD, Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research, Stuttgart, Germany
    2001-2002 Research Assistant, National Center for Scientific Research “Demokritos”, Athens, Greece

    Selected Distinctions

    2015 Elected member of the “Young Academy of the Austrian Academy of Sciences”
    2013 ERC Starting Grant
    2013 FWF START Award
    2012 FWF Lise Meitner Fellowship
    2011 Marie Curie Carrier Integration Grant

    To top