IST Austria offers an attractive environment for excellent scientists from all over the world. It is an institute dedicated to basic research of the highest quality. It chooses its scientific fields on the basis of the availability of outstanding researchers. It will only enter into fields in which it can compete with the best. Its scientists are encouraged to pursue their own goals and ideas, independent of political and commercial interests.

In order to foster
inter- and multidisciplinary research the scientists at IST Austria are not organized into departments but into independent research groups. Each group is led by a Professor or Assistant Professor, and consists of about ten doctoral students and postdoctoral fellows.

Faculty List

Group Leader Research Topic
Björn Hof Turbulence, Fluid Dynamics, Bio-Fluidics
Anna Kicheva Tissue Growth and Developmental Pattern Formation
Julian Fischer Theory of Partial Differential Equations, Applied and Numerical Analysis
Maksym Serbyn Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics and Quantum Dynamics
Mikhail Lemeshko Theoretical Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics
Jozsef Csicsvari Systems Neuroscience
Călin C. Guet Systems and Synthetic Biology
Leonid Sazanov Structural Biology of Membrane Protein Complexes
Florian Schur Structural Biology of Cell Migration and Viral Infection
Jan Maas Stochastic Analysis
Thomas A. Henzinger Software Systems Theory
Scott Waitukaitis Soft and Complex Materials
Beatriz Vicoso Sex-Chromosome Biology and Evolution
Martin Loose Self-Organization of Protein Systems
Carrie Bernecky RNA-based Gene Regulation
Robert Seiringer Quantum Statistical Mechanics, Mathematical Physics
Onur Hosten Quantum Sensing with Atoms and Light
Johannes Fink Quantum Integrated Devices
Eva Benkova Plant Developmental Biology
Edouard Hannezo Physical Principles in Biological Systems
Zhanybek Alpichshev Non-linear and Time-resolved Optical Spectroscopy of Strongly Correlated Electron Systems
Peter Jonas Neuroscience
Sandra Siegert Neuroimmunology in Health and Disease
Maximilian Jösch Neuroethology
Gaia Novarino Neurodevelopmental Disorders
Georgios Katsaros Nanoelectronics
Ryuichi Shigemoto Molecular Neuroscience
Johann Danzl High-resolution Optical Imaging for Biology
Tamas Hausel Geometry, Pure Mathematics
Mario de Bono Genes, Circuits, and Behavior
Krishnendu Chatterjee Game Theory and Software Systems Theory
Maria Ibáñez Functional Nanomaterials
Fyodor Kondrashov Evolutionary Genomics
Nick Barton Evolutionary and Mathematical Biology
Dan Alistarh Distributed Algorithms and Systems
Vladimir Kolmogorov Discrete Optimization
Uli Wagner Discrete and Computational Geometry and Topology
Simon Hippenmeyer Developmental Neurobiology
Jiri Friml Developmental and Cell Biology of Plants
Krzysztof Pietrzak Cryptography
Andrew Higginbotham Condensed Matter and Quantum Circuits
Christoph Lampert Computer Vision and Machine Learning
Chris Wojtan Computer Graphics and Physics Simulation
Bernd Bickel Computer Graphics and Digital Fabrication
Michael Sixt Cell Biology and Immunology
Carl-Philipp Heisenberg Cell and Developmental Biology
Daria Siekhaus Cell and Developmental Biology
Gašper Tkačik Biophysics and Neuroscience
Sylvia Cremer Behavioral and Evolutionary Ecology
Laszlo Erdös Applied Mathematics, Mathematical Physics
Tim Browning Analytic Number Theory and its Interfaces
Herbert Edelsbrunner Algorithms, Geometry and Topology